USET Foundation Recaps 2010 Award Winners

December 14, 2010 Off By Roberta Johnston

the year, the United States Equestrian Team Foundation works diligently to honor the top riders in their disciplines as they excel at the highest level of the sport. In 2010, the USET Foundation presented 16 awards to riders in five disciplines to honor their incredible achievements. The mission of the USET Foundation is to support and foster America’s riders and they help do this by recognizing each athlete’s excellent accomplishments.

This year during their fundraising event, the USET Foundation recognized the Whitney Stone Cup recipient McLain Ward. The award is given to an active competitor whose consistent excellence in international competition, and whose standards of sportsmanlike conduct and contributions as an ambassador for the sport and for the USET, exemplify the Team’s highest ideals and traditions. In 2009, Ward was unstoppable as he consistently exhibited brilliance in international competition.

The Lionel Guerrand-Hermes Trophy was also presented in February and this year the award went to young rider Jennifer Waxman. The award goes to a Young Rider in one of the Olympic disciplines who exemplifies both sportsmanship and horsemanship.

In March, the Maxine Beard Show Jumping Developing Rider Award was presented to Nicholas Dello Joio at the 2010 American Invitational in Tampa, FL. His selection for this award was based on his past performances and future potential to represent the United States in international competition.

The USET Foundation also presents awards to riders who excel at specific, high-level competitions. In May, Phillip Dutton was the recipient of the USET Foundation Pinnacle Cup, which is awarded annually to the highest placing American competitor at the prestigious Rolex CCI**** Three-Day Event. Dutton was honored with the award after securing second place honors aboard Woodburn, owned in a partnership by Acorn Hill Farm, Annie Jones, and Mardie Faucette.

The Markham Trophy in Eventing is presented twice each year to the highest placing U.S. Young Rider at Jersey Fresh CCI*** (spring) and Fair Hill International (fall). Tiana Coudray won the Markham in the spring, along with the prestigious Gladstone National Open Challenge Award. Olivia Loiacono won the Markham Trophy as the highest placed U.S. Young Rider at the fall championship.

This year, the World Equestrian Games selection trials for dressage were held during the Festival of Champions at Hamilton Farm. The National Grand Prix Champion was Tina Konyot, who not only earned a spot on the 2010 WEG U.S. Dressage Team, but was also awarded the Dressage Bowl trophy by the USET Foundation. The winner of the National Intermediaire Championship was Dr. Cesar Parra, who received the Intermediaire Championship Bowl award for his amazing performance.

Each year, the USET Foundation presents awards to the winners of the 2010 Platinum Performance/USEF Show Jumping Talent Search Finals East and West, as well as their trainers. This year it was Taylor Ann Adams who was victorious at the West Coast Finals and she was presented with the Denali Memorial Perpetual Trophy. Karen Healey and Don Stewart received the Leading Trainer Award for the West Coast after helping Adams achieve her victory. The winning prize during the East Coast Finals went to Brittany Hurst, who received the French Leave Trophy for her wonderful efforts. The Leading Trainer Award for the East Coast was presented to Emil Spadone and Val Reniham.

In the discipline of Driving, the USET Foundation presented two awards to the National Champions. Showing her team of horses to win the National Pairs Championship was Lisa Singer, who was presented with the Moore Trophy. Receiving the Vanderbilt Cup was Chester Weber, who piloted his horses to his eighth National Four-in-Hand Championship in 2010.

Wrapping up the 2010 year was the Dansko Fair Hill International CCI*** Event. Hannah Sue Burnett was the 2010 USEF National CCI*** Eventing Championship with Richard Thompson’s St. Barths and received the Gladstone Challenge Trophy. The highest placing young rider was Olivia Loiacono, who was presented with the Markham Trophy for her incredible ride aboard Subway.

The USET Foundation is thrilled to recognize the incredibly talented 2010 award winners and their amazing achievements in the sport. Congratulations to this year’s award winners and good luck in 2011!

The United States Equestrian Team Foundation ( ) is the non-profit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America’s elite and developing international, high-performance horses and athletes in partnership with the United States Equestrian Federation.

For more information on the USET Foundation, please call (908) 234-1251, or visit USET ONLINE at .